The Law Office Of

Juan Carlos Pallares

The Law Office Of

Juan Carlos Pallares

I've just been arrested for DUI. What should I expect?

A DUI is a misdemeanor under California law, but there are steep penalties.

The officer is required by law to immediately forward a copy of the completed notice of Driver Licence Suspension or Revocation.

Your driver license will be suspended or revoked and the report sent to the DMV. The DMV will automatically conduct administrative review that includes a review of the officer’s report, the suspension or revocation order, and any test results.

Here is an overview of what to expect after a DUI:

  • Your licence will be suspended 30 days, but you may request a hearing with the DMV to try and avoid suspension.
  • You will be criminally arraigned. A plea will need to be  entered and possibly go to trial.
  • If convicted, possible penalties including fines, jail time, alcohol/drug treatment and limits on your driving privileges. The penalties vary depending on whether you have a past DUI offenses and whether anyone was injured as a result.

Criminal in handcuffs

How Much Does a DUI Cost in California?

The expected consequences and cost for being charged and convicted with a in DUI is California can be severe, even for a 1st time offense.

A criminal conviction from a DUI offense in CA which will result in permanent criminal record. A first DUI conviction in California is a misdemeanor. 

These are common penalties that you can expect to face:

  • Licence Suspension
For a first DUI conviction, generally your licence will be suspended for 6 months.
There’s also a four-mouth administrative suspension imposed by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) if the driver had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .80% or more.

  • Fines

There is a criminal fine prescribed by law.
A first DUI carries $390 to $1,000 in fines plus a number of “penalty assessments” that can substantially increase the amount the driver has to pay. The total can be several thousand dollars or more.

  • Jail

It’s possible for the first offender to receive 48 hours to six months in jail.

  • Court Assessments
These are fixed fees related to the cost of processing your case and are non-negotiable. These are only assessed if you are convicted.

Sentence-Related Costs

  • Alcohol Education Classes
  • Car Impounded/Storage Fees
  • Ignition Interlock Devices

Other Sentence-Related Costs

A guilty plea or conviction of a DUI can be found in any future background checks, which can negatively affect a person’s employment and personal life.

First time DUI offenders usually receive informal probation from 3 to 5 years. Normally as a condition of probation, the offender must complete DUI classes consisting of 30 hours of classes over 3 months period. However, for dependants with a BAC of .20% or more, the program is nine months with 60 hours of class time.

Popular Posts

Send Us A Message

Schedule Your Appointment

  • Select Location
  • Service Selection
  • Custom Fields
  • Select Attorney
  • Date & Time
  • Your Information
  • Verify Order Details
  • Confirmation

Select Location

Please select a location you want the service to be performed at including Phone, WhatsApp & FaceTime

Select Location

Please select a location you want the service to be performed at including Phone, WhatsApp & FaceTime

Service Selection

Please select a service for which you want to schedule an appointment

Custom Fields

Please answer this set of questions to proceed.

Select Attorney

You can pick a specific agent to perform your service or select any to automatically assign you one

Date & Time

Click on a date to see a timeline of available slots, click on a green time slot to reserve it

Your Information

Please provide you contact details so we can send you a confirmation and other contact info

Verify Order Details

Double check your reservation details and click submit button if everything is correct


Your appointment has been successfully scheduled. Please retain this confirmation for your record.
Call (562) 742 5194 for help

Location Selection

Location Selection
Service Selection
Custom Fields
Select Attorney
Date & Time Selection
Customer Information
Verify Booking Details
Appointment Confirmation
Long Beach
2424 E Anaheim St, Long Beach, CA 90804
Phone. Zoom. WhatsApp. FaceTime
Translate »

The Law Office Of


Subscribe To Our newsletter

The Office Will Be Closed!
la Oficina Estara Cerrada!

08/08/23 - 08/10/23

Skip to content